Page 1 of 22 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: ZRX 1200 N made into a (hopefully great) scrambler

ZRX 1200 N made into a (hopefully great) scrambler

Hello, fellow ZRXers!

So I have been dreaming about customizing a bike for a few years now... I am a big Kawasaki fan, and was looking for a "classic" looking bike, with tubular frame. Being 1.90 and 115 kg, I needed a bigger machine, so the ZRX was not a difficult choice.

Finally, last spring, I found this 1200N in Germany, in great condition, and with nice price tag.

$_57 (5).JPG

Long story short, I want to turn it into a scrambler (of sorts). I do have quite decent wrenching skills, and hopefully some fabrication skills as well. My main goal is to do as much of the work as possible myself, so I am willing to sometimes compromise the looks (hopefully not the safety) to being able to say "I made it".
    The budget is also important, I want to try to keep it as low as possible until I get to the end, and then improve where possible, if it makes sense.

I have been doing quite a lot of reading of the forum for a while now, so I have seen that some people prefer the factory looks, and others not so much. At the end of the day, it all comes down to personal preference, and this build will reflect mine.

The loose plan:
    - change the colour to a dark green
    - cut the rear subframe, custom brown seat with scrambler style back end
    - knobby tires
    - paint all the chrome/alu parts black
    - fork gaiters, cover the shiny part between the yokes
    - exhaust wrap
    - change exhaust can, to maybe reverse cone, and reposition under the foot rest
    - change and reposition coolant tank
    - new battery box/mount
    - still undecided on the air filtration system.

I want to get as much as possible done until spring and get it on the road, and then resume after the riding season is over.