PDA

View Full Version : Broadband speed



Spacebrother
15th May 2007, 07:58 PM
Anyone else on here having problems with their broadband ???
Mines so bad at the moment i'm thinking of digging out my old dial up modem, just did a speed test and it came back at 42k !!!!

TI GG RRRRRRRRRR
15th May 2007, 09:38 PM
Who are you with? I'm with BT and fine here, but a mate of mine is with Virgin/NTL and has major problems

RHM
15th May 2007, 10:18 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/126638834.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Dogruff
15th May 2007, 10:45 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/126650091.png (http://www.speedtest.net)


I'm meant to have 4meg BB with NTL/Virgin.
3965 is close enough for me

:D:

buster
15th May 2007, 10:53 PM
If you are with virgin they are having trouble with the broadband speedi am on 4mb and only getting 270kb:doh:

wardourdrive
16th May 2007, 05:21 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/126775904.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

On 10Mb with virgin Media /NTL so this is fine for me

sluglie
16th May 2007, 09:29 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/127089212.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

supposed to be 1.5mb connection for me so god knows how i got those figures

RHM
17th May 2007, 01:26 PM
:lol:

waratah
17th May 2007, 07:53 PM
Recently had other probs with Virgin Media.

Whilst engineer was here checked speed of conection using this site HERE (http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/)

Click on Washington DC as the host.(This is the site used by Virgin to test speeds).

I am on 10mb but when tested via my Linksys WRTG54 Wireless router only got download speed of 1.5mb. :dunno:

When directly cabled to the modem it went up to 6.0mb:)
The engineer suggested that the router is the problem and with that he left.
Bought new Router but with same result :cry:- 1.5mb.
So my PC is now hardwired and I only use the wireless for the laptop.

RHM
18th May 2007, 03:16 PM
:lol:

Just used that Washington Speakeasy one and got this:

Download Speed: 665 kbps (83.1 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 454 kbps (56.8 KB/sec transfer rate)

Relies too much on a lot of hops elsewhere.

mickfarmer64
18th May 2007, 05:52 PM
My current broadband speed (peak hours) can only be described as shi**, quick as a quick thing after about 01.00. Really bloody useful that is.

Am I correct in thinking that I'm sharing with about 9 billion other people at the BT exchange. If so can you complain to BT.

Last time I had this problem, I phoned the supplier (like talking to a brick wall) They told me it was probably due to being a long way from the exchange. When I pointed out I can bloody see it from my house, they seemed a bit lost at best. I did then say, but it is up-hill, the reply, and I kid you not "that probably explains it then" :(

TI GG RRRRRRRRRR
18th May 2007, 05:58 PM
My current broadband speed (peak hours) can only be described as shi**, quick as a quick thing after about 01.00. Really bloody useful that is.

Am I correct in thinking that I'm sharing with about 9 billion other people at the BT exchange. If so can you complain to BT.

Last time I had this problem, I phoned the supplier (like talking to a brick wall) They told me it was probably due to being a long way from the exchange. When I pointed out I can bloody see it from my house, they seemed a bit lost at best. I did then say, but it is up-hill, the reply, and I kid you not "that probably explains it then" :(

oh come on mick, everyone knows broadband is slower up hill ;)

Spacebrother
18th May 2007, 06:23 PM
I can only see things getting worse now that BT are starting to roll out TV down the broadband line, that'll fook it up completely.

wardourdrive
18th May 2007, 06:42 PM
oh come on mick, everyone knows broadband is slower up hill ;)

Aahh that supload speed, if that was the case then surely download speed would be well fast as its would be down hill;)

mickfarmer64
18th May 2007, 07:08 PM
oh come on mick, everyone knows broadband is slower up hill ;)

Actually I didn't know that, I've got a solution though, I'm selling up and moving to the bottom of the street...sorted.;)

RHM
18th May 2007, 07:27 PM
The distance from the exchange is the distance the line takes, not the most direct route. I can't remember the number, but you used to be able to use an automated service to check the line distance.

Most consumer broadband products are 50:1 contended so that when you're online, you could be sharing the same 'pipe' as 49 others. If they're all on Messenger, streaming porn and sharing music, then it'll be like treacle.

mickfarmer64
18th May 2007, 07:34 PM
The distance from the exchange is the distance the line takes, not the most direct route. I can't remember the number, but you used to be able to use an automated service to check the line distance.

Most consumer broadband products are 50:1 contended so that when you're online, you could be sharing the same 'pipe' as 49 others. If they're all on Messenger, streaming porn and sharing music, then it'll be like treacle.

Rich is it worth complaining, or would I just be wasting my time.

RHM
18th May 2007, 09:17 PM
Yes and yes. :\

I doubt there's much you could do other than stump up (a lot of) extra dosh for a business connection like ours.

mickfarmer64
19th May 2007, 10:26 AM
Yes and yes. :\

I doubt there's much you could do other than stump up (a lot of) extra dosh for a business connection like ours.

:thumb:

waratah
19th May 2007, 10:30 AM
If they're all on Messenger, streaming porn and sharing music, then it'll be like treacle.

Fits the profile of a typical ZRXOC member then!:dance:

PALESAINT
4th July 2008, 12:57 PM
talk talk. cant remember what its supposed to be. not a brilliant result. they said its down to the old exchange and the line between the exchange and the house.....

http://www.speedtest.net/result/291970815.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Purge
4th July 2008, 02:38 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/292004133.png

Through BTInternet and my wireless router :cool:

Supposed to be 'up to' 8MB/sec, best I've seen is 7,800kB/s directly connected to the router by ethernet cable.

Mr Bump
4th July 2008, 03:11 PM
Main issues with Phone based internet/DSL is the speed the modem communicates with the exchange is dependent on line quality/signal to noise ratio etc.

Means--- If you live say over 2 km (line length) from the digital exchange then you will not get much more that 6mb absolute max, so if your paying for a 10mb connection forget it.

If you can log on to your DSL router you may be able to view the SN ratio and check it against specs, sometimes resetting your router during different times of the day can mean it grabs a better signal and it maintains that speed once using the wire.

I use NT/Virgin cable and they can be hit and miss. I also use a lot of torrent stuff and they reset my connections often when i'm going for it big style.

Oh forgot to add Linksys stuff is crap, try upgrading the firmware on it but ditch it and buy Netgear.

PS..Unfortunatly I do know my stuff I am an IT geek..!

But I do have a green one...

mickfarmer64
4th July 2008, 05:14 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/292062534.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Better than of late but still not brilliant...

Madmarshal
4th July 2008, 06:27 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/292089693.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Im on Virgin and mines been fine.



I use NT/Virgin cable and they can be hit and miss. I also use a lot of torrent stuff and they reset my connections often when i'm going for it big style.

Oh forgot to add Linksys stuff is crap, try upgrading the firmware on it but ditch it and buy Netgear.

PS..Unfortunatly I do know my stuff I am an IT geek..!



Ntl/virgin just traffic shape at different times of the day if you login and try a speed test at 5am you'l normally get flat out i get my full 20meg at that time in the morning. But between 5ish and midnight i can drop down to a slow ass 10meg.

Linksys is owned by cisco which as an IT geek you'll know runs a fairly large portion of the worlds interweb/servers etc, so I will stick with them. Personally i have never had a problem with any cisco/linksys kit i have bought if its set up right your on a winner.

P.S As a welder/fabricator/binaries leech/and a mod on a torrent site i also know my stuff.

Mr Bump
4th July 2008, 08:24 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/292089693.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Im on Virgin and mines been fine.



Ntl/virgin just traffic shape at different times of the day if you login and try a speed test at 5am you'l normally get flat out i get my full 20meg at that time in the morning. But between 5ish and midnight i can drop down to a slow ass 10meg.

Linksys is owned by cisco which as an IT geek you'll know runs a fairly large portion of the worlds interweb/servers etc, so I will stick with them. Personally i have never had a problem with any cisco/linksys kit i have bought if its set up right your on a winner.

P.S As a welder/fabricator/binaries leech/and a mod on a torrent site i also know my stuff.


The only reason Cisco run all the Interweb thing is they were the only router company actually running when the net started and everyone has stuck with them since and i disagree with Linksys being GREAT everyone I know on the torrent circuit has ended up running different kernals to iron out torrent bugs or ditching them as there port forwarding is hap hazard at best so neeerrr :argue:

So get on with some welding :rotf: :rotf:

Madmarshal
4th July 2008, 10:07 PM
everyone I know on the torrent circuit.

as there port forwarding is hap hazard at best so neeerrr :argue:

So get on with some welding :rotf: :rotf:

I can teach you how to weld if you want and while you're here i can show you how to port forward ranges on a linksys so you have no problems with 1 in the future :p:

I know a few lads in the scene and on torrent sites old and new, shut down and still running and a fair few of them use linksys kit and the ones who really know their stuff run Linux boxes anyway.

:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

purpleangus
6th July 2008, 11:42 PM
Download speed's not doing too bad.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/292881738.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Upload speed is a bit light. I must be downhill from Dublin. ;)

Berealwith
13th August 2008, 12:55 AM
I can only see things getting worse now that BT are starting to roll out TV down the broadband line, that'll fook it up completely.

Hi Spacebrother, are you still having problems ? who provides your internet ?

floyd69
16th August 2008, 09:19 PM
Don't hit me but i am a bt engineer ,but as wilkinsonp says .basically further from exchange you are the slower the speed (if going through copper/aluminium cable)and condition of cables in the ground (some been there 50 years plus).you may live close to exchange but if cable leaves might go up the hill round corner and back round to you(if you get what i mean).always try unplugging all extensions,sky & telephones from bt sockets to see if that helps,as extension wiring is a lot of problems i.e running under carpets and being walked on and squeezed when you shut the doors on them a few times.
Anyway it keeps me in work LOL
if anyone has a prob i will try to help(i am not an expert )

gsexr
22nd October 2008, 10:29 PM
This is with 3 pc`s networked and running so can`t complain

Blackleg
23rd October 2008, 07:04 PM
Well I'm really banging tonight...

RHM
24th October 2008, 11:42 AM
Better than at home

http://www.speedtest.net/result/344111167.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

DinosaurRex
24th October 2008, 11:47 AM
Rich, that looks like 1.5M SDSL - sweet!

RHM
25th October 2008, 03:31 AM
That's the shared hotel connection too - usually they're throttled aggressively in the UK at least.

In London, my connection speed is about 512k :nope:

PALESAINT
16th November 2008, 06:18 PM
Thats about the max with TALK TALK through an old BT exchange

http://www.speedtest.net/result/357038116.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

What I dont understand is that all ISPs using the same technology are going to have the same problem.........aren't they?

Any ideas on the best bet?

RHM
17th November 2008, 05:37 PM
Yes.

Contention ratios notwithstanding, speed is down to the type of connection, the length of the wire and the technology at the exchange.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/357540872.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Orange USB cellular modem at a Client's offices in London (shite reception on Vodafone and 3, by the way).

Max
17th November 2008, 06:03 PM
Is the site only accessible via mobiles using the www,zrxoc.com address or can it be wap'd?

PALESAINT
17th November 2008, 06:10 PM
ok let me try and get this straight.

The internet has to come down the telephone cable. Because of where I am located, that means via an old exchange and very old cables. Some of us must be in a similar situation.

If I change the ISP here I'm still stuck with lines from the exchange.

Is there a viable option given that mobile signals are far from brilliant?

ta gents :)

phoenix
17th November 2008, 06:18 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/357564251.png

Max
17th November 2008, 06:36 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/357574713.png (http://www.speedtest.net) :o:

Machagar
17th November 2008, 07:05 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/357591364.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/359294514.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

PALESAINT
17th November 2008, 08:18 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/357574713.png (http://www.speedtest.net) :o:

:thud: Carphone warehouse? Thought that was basically TALktalk. Result.

so you guys must be near an exchange with decent cables :dunno:

Max
17th November 2008, 08:28 PM
:thud: Carphone warehouse? Thought that was basically TALktalk. Result.

so you guys must be near an exchange with decent cables :dunno:

They took over from AOL, pretty crap actually.

PALESAINT
17th November 2008, 08:33 PM
They took over from AOL, pretty crap actually.

try it down here :nope:

there must be a better way.................

Max
17th November 2008, 08:49 PM
You dont need t'internet down there, you got great scenery instead. :)

RHM
18th November 2008, 08:40 AM
can it be wap'd?

http://www.zrxocboard.com/board/archive/

That gets you text view which is fine or there's a PDA link (http://www.zrxocboard.com/board/archive/index.php?pda=1) too.

Rozza
18th November 2008, 10:51 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/358302543.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

The speed in Bath, with BT broadband varies wildly, but for the stuff I use it for, its fine!!:eyebrow:

RHM
19th November 2008, 06:01 PM
From work:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/358732053.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

PALESAINT
19th November 2008, 09:04 PM
This all makes depressing viewing. Cant decide how much of the abysmal performance is down to the ISP (talktalk) and how much the 1920s cable between here and the exchange.......

Berealwith
20th November 2008, 12:12 PM
http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/02208429.png (http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk)

not too bad concidering i was downloading at the time. :cool:

RHM
20th November 2008, 04:47 PM
Hate, hate

TheGrimReaper
20th November 2008, 11:25 PM
ok let me try and get this straight.

The internet has to come down the telephone cable. Because of where I am located, that means via an old exchange and very old cables. Some of us must be in a similar situation.

If I change the ISP here I'm still stuck with lines from the exchange.

Is there a viable option given that mobile signals are far from brilliant?

ta gents :)

some of the guys at work use mobile broadband dongles, can be pricey but orange are knocking one out at the moment for 25 / month plus if you sign up now you get a free laptop...

http://shop.orange.co.uk/shop/mobile-broadband

Moriwaki man!
22nd November 2008, 08:46 AM
This is doing it to a server in Yokohama which is about 100miles away from me

http://www.speedtest.net/result/360215456.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Our server is directly across the road and my connection runs at 100Mbps but this one shows differently

http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/02224856.png (http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk)

EDIT:

Got it optimized and running a bit better :)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/363510805.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Evurr
22nd November 2008, 01:46 PM
ok let me try and get this straight.

The internet has to come down the telephone cable. Because of where I am located, that means via an old exchange and very old cables. Some of us must be in a similar situation.

If I change the ISP here I'm still stuck with lines from the exchange.

Is there a viable option given that mobile signals are far from brilliant?

ta gents :)

But surely if you go over to cable you're using different wires?

PALESAINT
10th July 2009, 08:41 PM
update


the simple expedient of plugging an ethernet cable into the wireless box and by passing the airport/wireless signal increased speed by six times.........

everyone else in the house still takes the wireless signal which isn't effected.

questions:

is the virgin speed so much faster coz its cable? ie MM's etc.

torrents, can someone elucidate...........are they like compressed av signals which the end user unbundles? :dunno:

Mr Bump
10th July 2009, 11:13 PM
nowt compressed about torrents they are point to point tcp/ip connections managed by a central point ie piratebay isohunt etc often called a tracker. basically the file/movie is split into multiple parts and thus you can be downloading bits from people at ths same time thus the upload speed from these people is aggregated. hope this makes sense (not a freaking chance :mut: )

kamikaze1100
11th July 2009, 02:32 AM
dunno what the fuck this means;
http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/04279657.png (http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk)

Moriwaki man!
11th July 2009, 05:01 AM
Guess it depends on when you do it, here's todays:

http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/04279823.png (http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk)

molosserman
11th July 2009, 08:14 AM
Roll on B.T. fibre to the home/kerb, that'll speed things up. Even if you can see your local B.T. exchange you may not be fed from it as many of them are being sold off and the cables are diverted to the next local exchange, therefore even longer cable distances/slower speed.

derekwadd
11th July 2009, 08:43 AM
BT bastards have capped mine, used to get 5Mbps plus in the mornings, usually dropped to 2.5 - 3.5 Mbps later on, now it seems to be the same any time day or night.

http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/04280405.png (http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk)

Spacebrother
11th July 2009, 12:55 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/515052925.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/515053607.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

These speed tests are only as good as the server/network being used otherwise i would expect near identical results.
The best improvement in download speed i got was to buy a new modem/wireless router, made a hell of a difference.

kamikaze1100
11th July 2009, 09:34 PM
seems to be consistant
http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/04286926.png (http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk)

REXER
11th July 2009, 10:35 PM
Mines supposed to be a 10Mbps so happy with the test.
http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/04287502.png (http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk)

kamikaze1100
12th July 2009, 06:00 PM
so today mine seems almost the same i`m supposed to be 8meg so why am i a bit low?

http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/04293428.png (http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk)

monuis
17th June 2011, 10:11 AM
hi i am here to share my experience about speed test .i test the speed in many sites all shows me low speed results and it vary from time to time .then my friend guide me to test the speed here
scanmyspeed (http://www.scanmyspeed.com/)
my results are
download=1.09Mbps
upload=0.87Mbps
friends comment on my speed and guide me tips to increase my speed.

Purge
17th June 2011, 11:18 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1346219598.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Virginmedia cable rules!
Progress in technology demonstrated by a thread resurrection
On my wireless 802n laptop :)

Hat101
18th June 2011, 10:31 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1346784731.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Think i need to upgrade my Virgin package :hmm:

Pal
18th June 2011, 12:13 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1346883342.png
I'm on the Virgin up to 10 meg service :cool:

kenzrx
18th June 2011, 02:32 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1347033302.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Purge
18th June 2011, 02:34 PM
I'm still winning :)

Chabsy
22nd June 2011, 10:03 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1352581898.png


Do i win anything

Ultim8pc
22nd June 2011, 09:58 PM
1.7meg down
500k up
120ms ping
Using speedtest.net connected to Manchester...
Crapola! But I am a long, long way from the exchange.

mick39
22nd June 2011, 10:10 PM
Crapola! But I am a long, long way from the exchange.

classic :clap:

Ultim8pc
23rd June 2011, 08:40 AM
BTW i used to get 512k down and 100k up but I whined and whined and slowly got them to tweak the line to get better speeds....

Nibz
23rd June 2011, 09:00 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1354094332.png

basic virgin media package is spot on. I don't download heaps of music or movies.

Machagar
23rd June 2011, 09:12 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1354108414.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

North South Divide :\

yanto
23rd June 2011, 09:46 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1354142933.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

phoenix
23rd June 2011, 12:44 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1354322407.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

wardourdrive
23rd June 2011, 02:16 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1354428523.png

getham
11th July 2011, 10:32 AM
Hi all your speed results seems to be good .i test the speed of my internet in many sites
I got the best and standard result from here ip-details (http://www.ip-details.com/) my results are
Download =1.09Kbps
Upload=0.87Kbps
Friends kindly guide me some tips to increase my speed .I complained to my provider about my speed. but yet now no response from them.

Purge
15th July 2011, 05:38 PM
Still winning :)

Richnhisrex
15th July 2011, 07:26 PM
9.81 on an alleged 10 meg line.. will do me nicely... albums take as little as 7 seconds to dl!!

Splendid!

REXER
15th July 2011, 08:14 PM
Friends kindly guide me some tips to increase my speed .

Get your head down and tuck your elbows in.

Ultim8pc
16th July 2011, 09:41 AM
Just changed my ISP to BE and the difference is amazing;
3.5 meg down
800k up
35ms ping
Sorted!
:crazy:

RHM
18th July 2011, 02:19 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1390754688.png

RHM
18th July 2011, 02:23 PM
http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/107967502.png (http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk)

I think that puts me ahead (when I'm at work anyway!)

Tim
18th July 2011, 04:31 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1390754688.png
:mfinger:


http://www.speedtest.net/result/1390906333.png
(177 mbps download - how did you lot lift the actual picture from the site?)
I'm apparently 8 miles away from the local BT place (1 1/2 actual miles if I take the bike!), but this is as good as I've seen. The new fibre optice cables are supposed to be done soon & I'll be 50 yards from the distribution box :)

RHM
18th July 2011, 04:37 PM
:lol: At home, this is what I get:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/892795804.png

No fibre, no cable, this is as good as it's going to get.

Tim
18th July 2011, 05:32 PM
Feel better now ;)

Purge
18th July 2011, 10:46 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1390754688.png


Photoshop'd I reckon ;)

RHM
22nd July 2011, 09:11 AM
:lol:

getham
23rd July 2011, 10:29 AM
hi i test the speed of my internet in many sites i got the best speed result
i dont know the reason why my speed seems to be slow many of them said that if Cable Internet services share bandwidth with satellite Internet access.
If there are many subscribers using that same bandwidth, it can slow down the connection. kindly guide me how to solve this problem .

Purge
23rd July 2011, 05:13 PM
hi i test the speed of my internet in many sites i got the best speed results from here scanmyspeed (http://www.scanmyspeed.com/)
my results are
download=1.09Mbps
upload=0.87Mbps
i dont know the reason why my speed seems to be slow many of them said that if Cable Internet services share bandwidth with satellite Internet access.
If there are many subscribers using that same bandwidth, it can slow down the connection. kindly guide me how to solve this problem .

Pathetic.

If I were you, I'd give up completely and go back to carrier pigeons or bean cans connected by string ;)

Hat101
11th August 2011, 12:26 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1427785127.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

New results :)

Pal
16th October 2011, 03:23 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1346883342.png
I'm on the Virgin up to 10 meg service :cool:
They've just upgraded me to the 30 meg service
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1538075076.png
Seems good so far :cool:

Spiffy
16th October 2011, 05:16 PM
I'm also with NTL/Virgin..

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1538253646.png

That's good enough to work from home with and run 2 other PCs

tiza5ive
21st October 2011, 05:50 PM
http://speedtest.net/result/1547751234.png

appears pretty crap but not so bad for a mob brdband stick with no 3g in the area :)

http://speedtest.net/result/1432411625.png


slightly better on fixed line talkfuckintalk

Tim
23rd October 2011, 01:18 PM
Mine is usually 1.7mb/s

Shite when you consider Sky advertise "up to" 40mb/s and have done for the last couple of years.

And its really crap using their wireless router for the laptop:(

Pal
24th December 2012, 09:59 AM
Virgin have just sent me a letter saying that they have doubled my BB speed, so I thought I'd check
14191
:cool:

Purge
24th December 2012, 10:50 AM
Ha! Think I'm safely back in the lead, despite Richy's futile Photoshop attempt ;)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2391694655.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Berealwith
30th December 2012, 02:50 PM
Ha! Think I'm safely back in the lead, despite Richy's futile Photoshop attempt ;)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2391694655.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Purge how the hell did you get a ping of Zero ? and your server you tested to is 50 miles away.

Purge
31st December 2012, 11:50 AM
No idea mate :dunno:

Just hit the button on Richy's tester link and that's the result I got :)

I'm on the max BB package Virgin do, and they are about to add another 20MB/s on top of the doubling they've just given me.

It drops to about 80 at peak times.

Here's another test on Broadband Speed Checker

http://i1237.photobucket.com/albums/ff466/purgeraptor/Capture_zps82ec4303.jpg

Here's the original test repeated

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2405002814.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Logi1200s
31st December 2012, 04:31 PM
14212 :(

Tim
6th January 2013, 11:04 PM
Mine is around 16 - 19 mbps at the mo, but it doesn't make a lot of difference as my computer is sh1te :(

getham
29th October 2013, 08:33 AM
This is my internet speed
download speed =1.09Mbps and
upload speed =0.87Mbps
I checked my internet speed using sites like Scanmyspeed.com (http://www.scanmyspeed.com/)
how about my speed?? is it good or bad?

digger06
29th October 2013, 05:45 PM
18 meg on mine, for 12.99 a month including line rental(plusnet), i arnt complaining,
O2 was similar speeds, but with plusnet the downloading is over 3 times faster on films?

REXER
29th October 2013, 07:11 PM
This is my internet speed
download speed =1.09Mbps and
upload speed =0.87Mbps
I checked my internet speed
how about my speed?? is it good or bad?

Wow that's awesome, now buy a ZRX or someone might just think you're trolling.

Purge
8th November 2013, 01:18 PM
Still winning :)


http://www.speedtest.net/result/3087335114.png (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3087335114)

RHM
8th November 2013, 02:06 PM
Damn!

15391

storm42
8th November 2013, 03:05 PM
77 up is the best I have ever seen, no need for a damn there.

Purge
8th November 2013, 04:05 PM
Yeah but...everyone knows it's better to take rather than to give (gays excepted) ;)

Purge
7th March 2014, 05:18 PM
It just gets better :)

Had a Virgin Tivo box installed today and moved my existing VBox to a bedroom.

They tweaked the power to the house and now it's

http://www.speedcheckerapi.com/Images/151120650.jpg

Goes to 160 mbps in the Summer allegedly at no extra cost :)

BT can GFI.....will never deal with those shysters ever again.

wardourdrive
9th March 2014, 04:30 PM
15685I guess I can't complain about the speed I am getting now

Purge
11th March 2014, 08:36 PM
Close but no cigar :)

Purge
12th March 2014, 03:12 PM
http://www.speedcheckerapi.com/Images/151482750.jpg (http://www.broadbandspeedchecker.co.uk)

monuis
18th March 2014, 01:05 PM
My speed test results are,

Downloadspeed:1.787Mbps
Uploadspeed:0.837Mbps
I checked my internet speed test here ScanmySpeed.com (http://www.scanmyspeed.com/) .
Is this good or not

Purge
21st March 2014, 06:31 PM
No, it is spectacularly crap ;)